How do we exist?

The Construction Education and Training Authority (CETA) was established in terms of the Skills Development Act 97 of 1998.
Since inception on 01 April 2000, there has been 21 SETAs in operation. 

What is the purpose of the Skills Development Act? 

The Skills Development Act 97 of 1998 aims to: 
  • Develop skills for the South African work force 
  • Increase investment in education and training, and improve return on investments in those areas
  • Encourage employers to promote skills development by using the workplace as an active learning environment
  • Encourage workers to participate in learnership and other training programmes
  • Improve employment prospects by redressing previous disadvantages through training and education
  • Ensure the quality of education and training in and for the workplace, and 
  • Assist with the placement of first time work-seekers

SETAs and their role within the skills development world: 
Each SETA therefore has a role to serve its respective sector within the South African economy, all reporting to the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET). SETAs bridge the gap between education and the workplace.

The main role of the SETAs is to understand the education and training needs in their sectors, to provide skills needs, to grow training opportunities in the workplace and to improve the quality of formal education and training. 

Latest Updates

Office Closure - 25 September 2020

23 Sep

CETA presentation to mark Women's Month - 27 August 2020

07 Sep

Construction SETA Stakeholder Webinar - 30 July 2020

31 Jul

CETA Webinar

24 Jul